Patron SaintSaint Theresa of the Child Jesus, one of the most instantly popular...


The Social Action of the Archdiocese of Trivandrum was established in the year 1960. It was registered in the name of TSSS as a non-governmental organization. The vision of the ministry is creation of a just society based on love, peace, truth equality and justice. The mission is empowerment of marginalized communities towards sustainable and participatory development process. Its objectives are:

  • To organize the communities and facilitate formation and strengthening of local leadership.
  • To build up capacity of the people for sustainable livelihood
  • To facilitate creative participation of women in socio-economic and political processes
  • To improve health status of the poor by promoting community health

In the parish level we have different activities like credit union, Vanitha Vedi, Self-Help Group, Bala Vedi, Senior citizen's forum and Housing programmes and charity works. Credit union formed in 1993 is a micro credit finance to save the poor from borrowing money from the money lenders. It also inculcates the culture of saving and financial discipline. This is an association for mutual help of its members. Its objective is to encourage small savings of its members. Vanitha Vedi is a women's organization formed in 1994. It helps the parish women to come together. A tailoring unit to teach tailoring and thus to have self employment is started under the TSSS parish unit. Two SHG groups functions by training the ladies in various self employment schemes of making umbrella, candle, soap mosquito coil, herbal medicine etc. Bala- Vedi is a group organized for the over all development of the children of the parish.

The general body of TSSS at the parish level consist one man and one woman each from the 12 BCC units thus has 24 member representatives. Its convener who represents the ministry in the Parish Council is elected by them. Every Fourth Sunday of the month the ministry gathers and discuss on the points gathered from BCC units and parish council. The convener takes the suggestions to the parish Council. The ministry representatives functions as the liaison between the BCC units and the Parish. The Social action body consists of the following members:

  1. Rev.Dr.Gladin Alex (Parish Priest)
  2. Mr.Augustin (Con)
  3. Mr. Thomas Lopez
  4. Mr. M K Kurian
  5. Mr. Martin George
  6. Mr. Suresh Joseph
  7. Mr. Georgekutty
  8. Mr. Joseph Marceline
  9. Mr. B Vincent
  10. Mr. M James
  11. Mr. S David
  12. Mr. Thomas Alexander
  13. Mr. James Ferndez
  14. Mrs. Lida Jacob IAS
  15. Mrs. Sheela Joseph
  16. Mrs. Nirmala P
  17. Mrs. Merin Jose
  18. Mrs. Reena Suresh
  19. Mrs. Vijayakumari
  20. Mrs. Mini Jude
  21. Mrs. Alphonsa James
  22. Mrs. Rani Rajan
  23. Mrs. Jessy Jayan
  24. Mrs. Mathu Painkras
  25. Mrs. Josephine
2012 © St. Therese of Lisieux Church